So. Let’s try this again, shall we?

I bought a skein of Noro Kureyon in the colourway 250A (a lovely mix of rich blues and purples) on impulse several years back. I don’t usually make impulse buys without at least an idea of what the yarn is destined to become, but I made an exception for the Kureyon because it was just too beautiful, and I would think of something, right?

Hahahaha.

It sat atop my stash and taunted me for a long time. Nothing seemed right for the yarn, although for a while I was planning on using it to knit the yoke of a colourwork sweater — but even that wasn’t a good fit. The gauge would be all wrong and the glorious Noro colours would get lost in the long rows needed to span my shoulders.

But inspiration hit last week, and today that yarn became a panta, a type of knit Finnish headband.

Image

It’s currently being blocked on my room-mate’s bed, because that’s one of the few cat-free surfaces in the apartment.

Image

So, of course, look who decides to follow me in to see what I’m up to.

One thought on “So. Let’s try this again, shall we?

  1. I feel your pain! I have three cats and out of all the boxes that I have w/yarn in them, they all chose the wool yarn box. I swear they were donating their hair to the cause! Your head band is lovely! Beautiful colors.

Leave a Reply

